Sulge menüü

Eurostar: Eileen Gray – 10 Euro .925 Silver coin Ireland 2016

Country: Ireland
Year: 2016
Face Value: 10 Euro
Metal: Silver
Fineness (purity): .925
Weight (g): 28,2
Size (mm): 38,6
Mintage (pcs): 6 000

Architect and designer Eileen Gray (1878–1976). Born in Enniscorthy, the second-largest town in County Wexford, Ireland, Gray is considered by many in the world of art as a true visionary. She lived the majority of her life in France and became a preeminent figure within the Modernist art movement, in which she was initially acclaimed for her work with lacquer. Her notable later works include E.1027, a modernist villa she designed and built from 1926 to 1929 in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France. Her futuristic armchair “Fauteuil aux dragons,” a design structured out of wood and containing two dragon’s heads carved in the armrests, sold at auction in 2009 for an astounding €22 million. Gray’s designs were often praised for their functionality in addition to their aesthetic form. She lived to see a resurgence of interest in her work in the 1970s, and her famous “Brick Screen” has become an icon of modernist design..

The Europa Coin Programme, also known as the European Silver Programme, or the Eurostar Programme,is an initiative dedicated to the issuance of collector-oriented legal tender coins in precious metals to celebrate European identity. The issuing authorities of EU member countries voluntarily contribute coins to the Europa Coin Programme. Multiple countries have participated in the programme, beginning in 2004. Some coins are denominated in euro, others are denominated in other currencies. Europa coins are legal tender
All the coins must bebe at least 900 fine silver and of proof quality.Coins should be approximately “crown sized” -this allows for national traditions and customs.Coins must show the Eurostar logo distinctly, and visible to the naked eye, but not be integral to the coin’s design.

• 2004 – EU enlargement
• 2005 – Peace & freedom
• 2006 – Distinguished European figures
• 2007 – European Realisation
• 2008 – Cultural heritage
• 2009 – European Heritage
• 2010 – European Architecture
• 2011 – European Explorers
• 2012 – European Visual Artists
• 2013 – European Writers
• 2014 – European Composers
• 2015 – Anniversary of the UN
• 2016 – Five Ages of Europe : Modern Age
• 2017 – Five Ages of Europe : Age of Glass and Steel

SKU: iiri16 Category:


3 in stock